Hey, 2017: I’m still standing

Have you ever grocery shopped on New Year’s Eve day? It’s a scream. Kroger was crowded with frantic shoppers loading up on chips, booze and other edibles to celebrate this super-hyped holiday.

I think I may have been wearing sweat pants while I was there. Not in the mood. I’m never in the mood to grocery shop, but especially not when it’s crowded and I look a fright. But then, THEN, Elton John’s “I’m still standing” came over the sound system.

I got kinda mushy in the frozen foods aisle. 2016 had many highlights: a two-week West Coast trip with my little family, Val graduating 8th grade, Bella being seizure free (!), Anthony really rocking his job, winning an award for my newsletter. But it’s hard to ignore the bad: my cousin’s husband being killed in a hit-and-run cycling accident, Val dealing with some pretty heavy-duty mental health issues, and of course Donald Trump.

But, we’re still standing. I truly believe that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

Don’t you know i’m still standing better than i ever did
Looking like a true survivor, feeling like a little kid
I’m still standing after all this time
Picking up the pieces of my life without you on my mind

Thanks for the reminder, Elton.

IMG_4387.JPG

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Hey, 2017: I’m still standing

Leave a Reply

