the good, the bad, the narcissistic

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and I’m curious to know your thoughts. Are people basically good, or bad? Basically self-interested, or selfless?

I just read this, and I’m torn. It’s heartwarming to read about the heroes who emerge in the face of crisis, and I usually wonder what I would do? I’m inclined to think I’m too cowardly to actually chase down a madman in a giant truck hellbent on murder and destruction.

But maybe I do have bravery deep inside me. I know I don’t have any qualms confronting doctors and school officials who I believe wrong me or my kids. I have confronted bullies and dickheads. Last year, I chased down a teenage speeder in my neighborhood. When I caught up to him, he scowled and said “Whaddaya want?” From the safety of my little Mazda 5, I told him that he needed to slow down in our family-friendly neighborhood. And then I got scared and drove away. He was about a foot taller than me and had three goons with him. Also, Val was in the car with me and I didn’t want to set a bad example by spewing the F word like a crazy person.

So, all this means I have no idea what I would do in a crisis. And I really have no idea about human beings and whether they are inherently good or bad. I do know, though, that I deal with a lot of narcissists in my life. Conversational narcissists are the worst. They talk and talk and talk only about themselves constantly. If you try to break in with a bit about yourself, they stop, glassy-eyed, in mid-gum flap, and wait for you to finish so they can continue with their spiel. Blech!

Photo on 8-16-16 at 7.50 PM.jpg
Poppy is a really good listener. Does that make me the conversation narcissist in our relationship?

Dealing with that every day has made me believe that MOST people fail at conversation and are therefore bad.

What do you think? And now I shall go to bed.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “the good, the bad, the narcissistic

  1. I think you are right and we all deal with a narcissistic world. Look how far Trump has gone. When I meet someone new I try to ask questions about them that will give me an insight. However if it’s a one way street, with no questions asked of me, I know that person will not become a good friend of mine or even a friend at all. We all like to feel we would react well in a crisis where help is needed. However, until the situation arises you never know. It is family lore that your grandmother Val once jumped on a man’s back who was pounding another man’s head on the pavement. I think we all like to think those genes are lying dormant in all of us.

  2. I think that most people are basically good while at the same time selfish. Maybe its a survival thing but when push comes to shove we can be quite selfless. If we were to take bets, my money would be on you to respond in a crisis; I think I’ll keep you around. When it comes to one on one interaction- my circle of close friends has become quite small because of the narcissism problem- I’ve got no time for that.

Leave a Reply

