Of Fartleks and Friends

I’m high from my morning workout. So, why not make a new post? I’ll try to write it in 10 minutes or less.

2012 is turning out to be pretty cool, catastrophic cat diarrhea and lice checks aside. (I keep it real over here.) I am on a very regular running schedule with my friend Ellen. We hit the YMCA at least three times a week, and we pretty much never run out of things to talk about. We’re at the same level, but I think she’s more of a natural athlete than me. I feel pretty damn good when the workouts are done, like I could conquer the world–or at least my writing projects at work. Today we ran fartleks, which is basically the Swedish way of saying “run really fast for 10 seconds and then run really slow for a while, and keep repeating that.”

Stream-of-consciousness-ly, here’s what’s on my mind:

  1. Girl Scout cookies! Gotta get the girls to sell some. Want to buy? I could mail them to you.
  2. Lyle is sick. Poor cat. Today we find out the results of his blood work. Fingers crossed it’s not diabetes because I don’t know how we’ll manage insulin shots twice a day.
  3. Movies are fun. I need to see more of them. In my intense mothering mode of the last 6 years or so, I’ve gotten out of the habit of going to the theatre with my handsome husband. 2012 might be the year of movies. (And Ryan Gosling better win an Oscar!)
  4. I need to blog more. I need to write for fun. I used to do that and I miss it.

Happy 2012. See you around.

4 thoughts on “Of Fartleks and Friends

  1. good comments and you are becoming a real runner along with Ellen. It is always good to have a buddy that keeps you motivated. Lover that you are going fartleks!

  2. Best title of a post ever! Yes, please keep writing- we want more 🙂 I love that Penni is our cheerleader, thanks Penni! Plus, no one has ever used my name and athlete in the same sentence; so I’m pumped! The fartleks rocked. I felt very energized.

    FYI, Golden Globes are this Sunday. Good Luck Ryan 😉

Leave a Reply

