Poppy

As I type these words, a dog is sleeping at my feet. She barely knows me, but she already pretty much worships me. According to her, I am smart, nice, pretty, fit–and I always know where the food is. Dogs really are an ego trip. I had forgotten about their blind devotion to their humans. We don’t get too much of that from the cats.

My new dog’s name is Lollipop but we call her Poppy for short. She’s a Shepherd mix from the Bloomington Animal Shelter. They named her Estella, but that just didn’t fit. She’s a Poppy, for sure.

She’s been great so far–even if she did get up last night at 2:30 a.m. to pee, and then barfed not once BUT TWICE in her crate after that. After that last barf-clean-up, she whined so pitifully in her crate that I let her sleep on the bed. I am so weak at 4 a.m. But look at those eyes!

Val and Bella are being great and gentle pet owners. They are over the moon!

 

One thought on “Poppy

  1. I am so glad you guys got a dog…and so happy you chose to adopt from the Bloomington shelter. I owe that shelter so much for the happiness they gave me through Marley! I like that you acknowledged that dogs will worship you and give “blind devotion to their humans.” I found this quote when I got Marley and it has stuck with me ever since. “He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.” ~UnknownThis is SO TRUE! Enjoy Poppy…she got a great home and she will be forever thankful!

Leave a Reply

