A Post About Princesses

I just asked Bella Boo, “What should I write about on my blog?” Without pausing, she said, “Princesses!”

I know all about princesses. Ariel, Jasmine, Cinderella, Snow White, Mulan, Sleeping Beauty, Tiana, Bella–I know their life stories, their likes, dislikes, their love lives. I’ll even be having breakfast with them all on the Friday after Thanksgiving–we’re going to Disney World! (I don’t know a damn thing about superheroes, though.)

I cringe a little when my daughters talk about getting married to princes and I make sure to point out that they don’t HAVE to get married. I even told Val that old feminist mantra “A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle.” She just looked at me with her big, hazel eyes. I guess we have a few years until that really becomes relevant, huh?

And now for some stream-of-consciousness blogging:

1) Valerie got another 100% on her spelling test!

2) Bella has her first fever of the season. I think she might have another ear infection, and we might needs tubes–again.

3) I’m running at 5:30 in the morning these days….I feel like superwoman!

Photo_on_2010-09-15_at_19

2 thoughts on “A Post About Princesses

  1. Whenever I read your blog I realize just how different life is with boys than with girls. Griffin recently inherited Duncan’s Batman utensils from when he was little. I have no idea how he learned this, but all of a sudden Griffin runs through the house saying, “Batman” in this really deep voice. He’s all about trucks and bikes and planes. I know nothing about princesses – we could always trade information if needed.

  2. Oh, Tracy, there is so much drama and emotion in my house! Was it like that in yours growing up? I always wanted a sister, and now I get to watch the sister dynamic unfold right in front of me. The good, the bad, and the snuggly.

Leave a Reply

