Two Different 9/11s

September 11, 2001

Newly pregnant, I went to my ob-gyn to have my very first ultrasound of my very first child. The appointment was at 10:30 a.m., so both planes had already hit the Twin Towers. No one really knew what was going on, although we were pretty sure by that point it was terrorism. The towers were still standing, though, and the Pentagon hadn’t been hit yet. I remember my doctor’s hands shaking as she performed the ultrasound. She said, “Forgive me, but my mind is elsewhere.”

It was such a strange experience to get some of the happiest news of your life on one of our country’s saddest days.

September 11, 2010

That fetus is now a beautiful, creative 8-year-old named Valerie. She saved up $15 worth of allowance money, and so I kept my promise to take her to get her ears pierced. She was thrilled! They double-teamed her (did the gun in both earlobes at once!), her face turned red, her eyes watered, but no tears were shed. She was totally thrilled! She even said, “This is the best day of my life.” She keeps looking in the mirror and exclaiming, “I love my earrings!” They do look pretty good, if I do say so myself.

P.S. Annabella really likes Nutella. Can you tell?

Img_1927

6 thoughts on “Two Different 9/11s

  1. Wow – Val, you look beautiful with your pierced ears and both at once – I ‘m impressed.Yes, Bella, I can see we have to have nutella in for you at all times!lots of loveNana and Mudgie XOXOXOXOX

  2. I too had an ob appt on 9-11-01. I remember driving by the gas stations and there were tons of people waiting to get gas and then seeing all the people in the dr office watching tv. I had not had time (nobody had) to process any of it. It felt so strange to go about “regular” life with this horrible thing happening.Love her ears!! Allie just got hers done a few weekes ago!!Lesley

  3. Lesley, it’s weird that we both had doc appointments on that date. Were you living in B-town too? (Probably still Ellettsville.) When is Matt’s b-day? Isn’t he a spring baby too?

  4. Hi, I came across this post from Posterous’ main page, and I have to say, it is really cool to think about how much has changed in 9 years. Your post put it into perspective, so thanks 🙂

  5. Ceci, we were living in Brownsburg at the time ( we moved to Ellettsville in 2003). His bday is Dec 26th. That is funny we were both going to appts for our 1st born. Which made that day all the more scarey, thinking about the life I would soon be bringing into the world.

Leave a Reply

