Here Comes My Girl

I was running the other day, listening to Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (who, by the way, are excellent to run to!) and their song “Here Comes My Girl” came on. Every time I hear it I think of my 8-year-old daughter. I think it’s supposed to be about a girlfriend, wife, whatever, but all the lyrics are so true for me and Valerie:

You know, sometimes, I don’t know why,
But this old town just seems so hopeless.
I ain’t really sure, but it seems I remember the good times
Were just a little bit more in focus.
But when she puts her arms around me,
I can, somehow, rise above it.
Yeah man, when I got that little girl standing right by my side,
You know, I can tell the whole wide world, “Shove it!”

She just turned 8, and I am so proud of her. Sometimes, really, when I talk to her it’s like talking to one of my friends. She has a presence that’s beyond her years. But yeah, she is still a little girl who likes to play with her Barbies and hits her sister on occasion. But tonight, watching the news about the Gulf of Mexico oil spill, she teared up just thinking about all the animals who will likely die.

Her artwork was selected for an exhibit at Indiana University, and when we went to the reception to see the piece, I was quite impressed. It was her Picasso-esque take on a cat. The teacher said she always excels in art, and that she was the first one in the class who thought of adding 3-D elements to the project.

I love that kid. Hey, world: shove it!

Media_http3bpblogspot_sfqfl
One thought on “Here Comes My Girl

  1. Oh, this is so sweet! I’ve always thought of this as a romantic song but GOSH it works great as a ballad for Val. That is one special girl you’ve got there…it was a true privilege to be part of her life for a short while.

Leave a Reply

