My Holiday Letter to You

It’s 10:06 and I’m sitting down to write in my blog. My blog. I found out my dad doesn’t read it, which means he is fair game now. I can write anything I want about him. Like, how my mom’s nickname for him is LD, which stands for “Larry David,” and if you’ve seen “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” you’ll maybe recognize some similarities. In a good way, though, Dad, really! We love you and your curmudgeonly ways down here in B-town. Here’s how the photo turns out when you tell everyone to just say “blog”!!

Media_http4bpblogspot_geczc

In other news, I am seeing a nice therapist to deal with my epilepsy-induced anxiety and hatred of the world. It’s going pretty well. I like him. We’re very different: he’s about 60, has just one grown son, has been married along time….but I like him. He’s very easy to talk to and seems to understand my problems. Whenever I’m in a session, though, I feel a bit reluctant to talk because it seems to self-indulgent to sit there and whine about my problems–and to pay someone to listen. I’m trying to conquer this. Any tips?

Here’s what it looks like when a certain four-year-old is so deathly afraid of Santa Claus that she won’t even go NEAR the fireplace to leave him cookies on Christmas Eve.

Media_http3bpblogspot_xnats

We now own two American Girl dolls. Valerie is thrilled, overjoyed, and wild with glee over hers: Kirsten, a Swedish immigrant to American circa 1854. (Although Kirsten was lost for a good 10 minutes tonight and Val didn’t seem that bothered by it.) Bella got a Bitty Baby she named Mary, after Mary Ingalls from the “Little House on the Prairie” books. Those books and the TV show are kind of a big deal around here.

We took the girls to high tea at the American Girl store in Chicago. Very cool! I can’t say it was the most excellent experience for these guys, but they tolerated it very well:

Media_http1bpblogspot_zcavn

The women among us enjoyed it a bit more:

Media_http4bpblogspot_iqdhu

And now for our final chapter: sister love. These girls, Valerie and Annabella, fight like crazy feral dogs sometimes. Other times they cuddle and pet each other and complain about me while lounging in Bella’s bed. I have always wanted a sister. It wasn’t in the cards. Instead I have a brother who I haven’t seen in five years. I wonder, does he still exist? Rob, if you’re reading this, come visit us. Anyway, it is my great privilege to be the mother to these two wonderful girls. I hope and pray they always love each other this much:

Media_http2bpblogspot_jpkzz

Peace on Earth, everyone.

Leave a Reply

