Two Miles, Two Miles, Two Miles!

I just ran two miles. In a row. Without stopping. Without dying. In front of other people. I am 36 years old and I have never done that before. Can you dig it?? I joined the YMCA about a month and a half ago. We live about 1.3 miles from it now–so no more excuses. But of course I can still come up with many (it’s too cold/it’s too hot/it’s too early/it’s too late).

Now Anthony and I take turns going out in the morning. I’m the M-W-F person, so on those mornings, I get up at 5:30 a.m. (this is big for me!) and head to the Y. I get on the treadmill and try to get some cardio for 35 minutes. That’s it. No more, no less. I started jogging because I figure I can get a more intense workout in a shorter amount of time. I’m pretty slow…about a 15 minute mile. But I do get really sweaty and it feels so good when it’s over! I’m planning to add some strength training to the routine once I get the cardio going. I’m extremely, very intimidated by weight lifting. But I want Michelle Obama arms, so I will conquer this fear!

This morning, a Wednesday you might note, I failed to get out of bed. I skipped my workout. This happens about once a week. Then I have to try to squeeze it in later in the day, sometimes with the two girlies with me. This is what you might call “unfun.” Then Bella was sick with a fever again and I knew my chances of going out would be even slimmer! But I sucked it up and left the house shortly after Anthony got home around 7:30 p.m.

In other news, today Val, Bella, and I watched Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” video. Can I still be a feminist if I let my daughters watch that? Anyway, I made a point of noting how great Beyonce’s body was, that she’s not super skinny and has curves. The girls were mesmerized. Then Bella said, “Mommy, she forgot her pants.”

Leave a Reply

